This post follows directly on from my earlier comments about the L.Labs article on voice, see the ‘Voice as Choice’ post.

From Tony Walsh’s site, Clickable Culture

Quote
Are Second Life residents prepared for this intrusion of reality in their virtual world? I don’t think so, but I suspect many will opt to use the service in the long run. Those who won’t opt in include gender-benders, roleplayers, those with speech impediments, the deaf, and those uncomfortable with their language skills or accents.
Unquote

I don’t have an issue with this comment as it appeared in its original context.

Here, however, it is reproduced as an indicative example of the sort of thing I mean when I ask ‘what will potentially become ‘the norm’ and what will be marginalised/’different’ etc. once voice rolls out in SL?’

And I’m speaking about inter-personal and social conventions and expectations (which might be implicit and manifest-in-practice, rather than stated, legislative, overt) and which will shift in different contexts, but would seem to have particular implications for ‘professional practice’ in SL (where specific modes and conventions of self-presentation might be generated and adhered to, while other modes are implicity constructed/’default to’ the inappropriate) – and here I’m thinking of Iris Marion Young’s writing in Justice and the Polictics of Difference, and I’m thinking about a clash between a rhetoric of inclusion, and practices of homogeneity and exclusion.

dc

