From the perspective of mid 2008, the roll-out of an integrated voice feature during 2007 was less of a ‘big deal’ than feared – for me at least. Perhaps this might change if, for instance, voice becomes more default/universal if/as/when the technology improves. I can still use SL without a problem. It has not been an issue in teaching yet. Academic events, seminars, simulcasts and conferences in SL are not always deaf-friendly but then so much of this stuff has technical hitches and glitches my guess is that hearing participants don’t know what’s going on either. By way of illustration, real-life presentations broadcast into SL can look like this: 

Presentation in SL

Presentation in SL

 

Maybe I’ve got some settings wrong. Hmm. Anyway. The debates around the roll-out were interesting as well as anxiety provoking, and I hope to follow up on the issues this has raised.

