Next steps include more work with the data collected during the interviews in Second Life last month. Expect to focus this time on hegemony and identity. The first draft after the interviews was a mess as tried to cover too much. So cut the draft up, and focused on particular issues in the existing literature (resulting in the draft posted below). The other stuff I was trying to cover was about power, identity, marginalization or ‘othering’ – have various ideas about how this might work as an article but am still thinking and finding things to read. 

Aside from that…In the earlier short article for Access, I mentioned that voice had impacted less on ‘my’ SL than originally feared. This has been true – The sessions I’ve convened have had a loose, discussion format which works well with text (and would be a big muddle in voice I think, with everyone chipping in, etc.). But lately am thinking might have to revise re impact. SL and Education events within SL itself are becoming more frequent (I mean conferences, seminars and presentations for RL educators using SL, hosted within SL). The trend seems to be for these to use voice – with little if any provision for those not using it (meanwhile long established groups in SL keep using text. Not sure that text has been ‘taken seriously’ as an option by educators – not, at least, when it comes to peer-to-peer events that replicate real world conference conventions and involve status). Not sure how I feel about this. Interesting how difficult it is to find a place to speak from that does not feel pre-defined…as if…once I become somebody who can’t participate then I can only squeak back (complain, interrupt, hello, hello?) from this assigned seat on the outer limits – and squeaking from ‘here’ feels like signing a contract (a contract that inadvertently ‘fixes’ the very thing I’d rather undermine – which is not my marginality so much as ‘their’ centrality). So there’s all sorts of weird things to figure out…about individuation and ‘deficit models’ of difference, emerging conventions, ‘othering’, and whether Jelly wants to go to their parties anyway…

